MADISON, Wisc., November 3, 2016 — The Workforce Development Board of South Central Wisconsin honored 7 individuals with its Aspire Award and 2 business leaders with the Making a Difference Award during the organization’s 32nd Annual Board of Directors Meeting and Luncheon on November 1.

The Aspire Award honors individuals for outstanding success and achievements in workforce development programs offered in collaboration with the Workforce Development Board of South Central Wisconsin, the WorkSmart Network and partners. Nominees for the award demonstrate the motivation and persistence needed to overcome obstacles to reach their career goals. This year, honorees were also recognized for their ‘entrepreneurial mindset’ in pursuing their career goals as part of the Meeting’s focus on entrepreneurialism.

The recipients of the 2016 Workforce Development Board of South Central Wisconsin Aspire Award included:


[gdl_gallery title=”2016 Aspire Award Recipients” width=”300px” height=”200px” ]

The Board also recognized two business leaders with its 2016 Making a Difference Award as part of the event. Since 1994, the award has served as an expression of gratitude and acknowledgement of the special efforts that area businesses and leaders dedicate to help the Workforce Development Board build and implement workforce solutions for their industries as a whole. This years honorees include:


[gdl_gallery title=”2016 Making a Difference Award Recipients” width=”300px” height=”200px” ]

The event included a premiere presentation on “the entrepreneurial mindset”, with panelists bringing insight to the breadth of entrepreneurship and its impact in workforce development. Guest panelists included Gregory St. Fort of 100state; Heather Wentler of Doyenne Group; Randy Guttenberg of Waunakee Community School District; and, Bryan Woodhouse of Madison College.

The 32-member Board also held its election of officers at the Annual Meeting, held at the Edgewater in Madison. Beginning on January 1, 2017, Pam Christenson of Madison Gas & Electric will succeed to the role of Board Chair, with Laura Cataldo of Maxim Consulting stepping into the role of Board Chair-Elect; Brian Pulford of John Deere Horicon Works set to serve as Board Secretary; and, Kathy Cromey of Cromey Freye and Associates continuing in the role of Board Treasurer. Each officer will serve a two year term.

About Workforce Development Board of South Central Wisconsin

The Workforce Development Board of South Central Wisconsin (WDBSCW) is a private, 503(c)(3) nonprofit organization that collaborates with businesses and workforce in the Wisconsin counties of Columbia, Dane, Dodge, Jefferson, Marquette and Sauk with a mission to build public and private partnerships that support innovation and excellence in workforce development.

Skip to content